first food post

i think that i will start writing about food on this blog too now.

Last night i made a pretty great veggie burger.

It was as follows:

morningstar “grillers prime” fake burger

sauteed crimini mushrooms (baby bella’s for you amateurs haha) and red onion

sharp cheddar

slice of heirloom tomato

wasabi mayo (from trader joe’s)

wheat bun

I have made variations of this in the past with mixed results. the tomato really added a certain something. the next time i make a veggie burger like this, i am thinking about adding some minced garlic to the sauteed mix for a little flavor. i may also change the cheese to havarti or i might splurge and buy a block of gruyere and finely shred some of it on the burger.

I dont think any other condiment would really add anything to the mix.

all of the veggies on the burger i got from one of my favorite websites: www.naturaldirect.com

They are based in Oswego, IL and deliver organic produce to your door. Since it is the summer, most of the veggies and some of the fruit is local as well, which is pretty damn cool. I can honestly say that they have sent me some of the best fruit i have ever eaten.

Here is an image of the heirloom tomatoes i got from them:

I have mostly been digging into the red behemoth there. I used it on the burger, in a kale-based salad, on a pizza and just slicing it up with sea salt and freshly ground pepper (the last thanks to Ms. Harvey). I gotta start on the orange one before it goes bad.

3 Responses to “first food post”

  1. ms. kharvs Says:

    todd – i would like to note that i recommended eating the tomato seasoned with salt+pepper sans the pizza. but, glad you enjoyed!

  2. todd Says:

    yo ms. kharvs,

    I can see where you may have misunderstood the wording, but I definitely did slice some tomato by itself and use the salt / pepper. The pizza was an entirely different (but also delicious) endeavor! The pizza was cheese, tomato, crimini mushrooms, red onion, basil and oregano.

  3. ms. kharvs Says:

    Ahh… I see, I see.

Leave a comment